Yeah this week! It has been a blast! New companion, new area, and new people! Absolutely love it here! It’s all concrete houses and dirt, and not hard packed dirt, but sometimes silt! Yeah it’s a lil’ different, but still Peru! It looks great on a new pair of freshly shined shoes. Getting my shoes shined is a once a day thing and sometimes twice because de todo es tierra! This week I have been getting to know my companion and my penchionista and her familia a lot better! Also the people in my ward! We walk just about everywhere! In my main area, we have about 6 familias so we don’t have quite enough to have our own barrio! But hey, my goal is to get our own before the time that I leave! Not living in our area makes it difficult for travel and getting to places on time, but we are in the work of the Lord. It’s not easy! People even rejected him, and he was perfect!

My first day in the area, we contacted for a lil’ bit and everyone we contacted with, we had a lesson with, and they became potential new investigators! This area is so different than my other area. People are actually willing to give you the time of day! We are also working with a lot of partial familias to have noche de hogars (Family Home Evenings)! Overall it’s been a time to reflect! And enjoy the service without the feeling that no one is listening!

In a lesson yesterday, a lady kept wanting to argue with us. So after about 10 minutes of combating, my companion and I finally just bore our testimonies. I don’t know if she will ever change, but it did make me realize how much I’m learning about the scriptures in the 5 months that I’ve been on my mission!

Still part of Arequipa, just more humble.

Still part of Arequipa, just more humble.

My companion doesn’t do things that are too annoying, so it looks like it’s going to be a good relationship! Oh yeah, and my previous zone leader, Elder Arce, is my zone leader here in Zomacola! Ohh, and my main area is Peruarbol. So for now, that’s where I’m serving! And loving every bit of it!

Elder McPherson

Remembering 9/11 in Peru. Go 'merica!

Remembering 9/11 in Peru. Go ‘merica!

 

Love my Peru futbol uniform!

Love my Peru futbol uniform!

