One heck of a year! I hope all of y’all had a great Christmas this year and could feel the Christmas joy all around! In this area of Peru, it’s a little pathetic with regards to the decorations here. No one wants to put them up because they all get stolen! So that means there aren’t many with lights or dancing reindeer! I thought to myself on Christmas day: Well this blows, no one is celebrating anything here! But man was I wrong! At 12 midnight, I heard a firework and after that another one. We ran outside to see them. When we got outside, it was like Star Wars in outer space. We ran to the neighbor’s roof, and from the top of his house, we could see everything! Bang, boom bam! It was so nuts! It puts New Years at Glamis to shame! The amount of fireworks was like a tiny Hiroshima! Man was it nuts! All the fireworks that are illegal in the states, were going off here! I couldn’t see the darkness in the sky! That’s how many there were! It went on for like 20 minutes, and then I could finally see through all the smoke and ash from the burnt fireworks! I hear that New Years is crazier, but I really don’t know how that is possible!

Sharing Christmas in Peru.

Sharing Christmas in Peru.

Overall this Christmas, everything was good. I got to talk with my family via Skype and they all looked so happy! I’m glad that while I’m here thousands of miles away, they are happy and safe! Someone is obviously looking over them! I did miss celebrating Christmas with my family there, but instead I got to celebrate it with my new family here this year!

Skype was great!

Skype was great!

It’s amazing to see the WORK of the Lord from this side (the side of a missionary) because it really is remarkable to see a family change from a husband who abused his wife, to a worthy, faithful Priesthood holder. That is just a one of the benefits that I got to see this year! All of the packages and boxes that I got this year made it that much better!

I really do feel all of your prayers and the work has only started! I can’t wait to see what the next year brings! The day after Christmas, we got a call at 6:30 to leave to give a blessing to our convert. She was really ill and was starting to have convulsions! After the blessing she started to sleep like a baby! The next day, she was perfectly fine! The power of the Priesthood is real, and we have this privilege, if we are worthy, to bless the lives of those around us when we hold the Priesthood!

Oh yeah, the 3 year old who lives in our house, said my name for the first time! :Elder, Elder Macpearsen. So cute, and what an angel she is!

I hope that your New Years is full of fun, and that all stay safe!!!
Later,
Elder Macpearsen

