Time for a new area and a new companion because I gotta change! My transfer is to Ilo Peru. I get to see the beach everyday now. And the smell of salt water in the air is the absolute best! My new companion is Elder Gomar. He is from Utah and his parents are Mexican, so he speaks Spanish pretty well. He seems to be like a normal kid. Finally!

Well the actual changes were kinda chaotic. I was packing all day yesterday, but after our two baptisms. And it still felt like I had tons more to put back in! Since I was in my last area for basically a year, I basically piled up on a bunch of stuff. But still I managed to fit it all into my bags! Saying goodbye was probably one of the hardest things I’ve had to do. The relationships that I’ve made here have really been one of the best things about this area. My penchion literally feels like family to me with two younger siblings, and my mom and my dad here. (At least now I have a back up plan if I get kicked out of the house from my real family back home!) Leaving all the members made it even more difficult. I felt as if all the kids were holding me down, telling me that I couldn’t leave! I felt so sad knowing that by the time I come back, most of them will be much older…weird how that happens. They just grow up so fast!

Last two baptisms in Arequipa.

Last two baptisms in Arequipa.

Well, to finish off this week, we ended up hitting our goal for baptisms this month! It was kind of a miracle, as we were approached by their uncle telling us that we had to baptize them! So we dropped by their house this entire week teaching them. They accepted, and we had literally the entire ward there for their baptism! It felt so great to finish off on such a strong note! This week Elder Beyeler and I got our custom sweatshirts finished and they look great! (His name is Parker, too!) Plus it was his birthday this week, so we celebrated with a surprise birthday for him.

Two cool Parkers!

Two cool Parkers!

Love you all!

Elder McPherson

