What a week it was!

Last P-day was a blast. There is a cachina in my area. That basically means a long garage sale, but everything is basically new. It’s where they sell the stolen cell phones, clothes, and purses. And a lot of real stuff from the states! I was walking through when I saw a shirt that caught my eye. It had a picture of some old guy that looked familiar. So I stopped and took another look…. I realized it was a photo from Duck Dynasty. I looked at it and saw the size was large, so it would fit me! I saw that it had the tag on it as well. (20 bucks) I offered her 8 soles, and she said perfecto! That’s like 3 bucks! With the tag on it and all! Freaking awesome!

Great deal, Jack!

Great deal, Jack!

After that, we went to the chapel to play soccer! I brought along the ping pong kit that my mom sent me, and we had a tournament! Even though my companion and I have been practicing every night, we got bumped out in the first round…

This week we focused on making activities more fun for everyone! We did a great mission night where we had a competition using the commandments. It was great once we practiced with all of them. We had the person who knew it the quickest, slap their hands on a table. If they got it right, then they got to put a lil’ whip cream on the face of the opposing person! It turned out so good! For the first mission night, we had like 10 people there! And that definitely helped for this past Sunday at church, because we bumped up our attendance from 80 last week, to 113 this week!

Our missionary Ping Pong tournament.

Our missionary Ping Pong tournament.

We have also been teaching this kid named Andy! His mom is less active and she is helping so much! Andy is 11, and he has two other siblings. He has been loving the church and the other activities that we have been doing. So last night, we set a date for him to get baptized. This July 26th! If he keeps progressing like this, he will be a strong kid in the church and life! His mom is a little protective, but has confidence with us, so we take him out to do stuff he normally couldn’t do in the house! He loves all that we teach him! Please pray from him.

Other than that, the sun was out for two days this week, and everything here was World Cup crazy, but now it’s back to normal life again. Hope all is well with everyone!

Elder McPherson

