This week was probably one of the best weeks in the mission! We have done literally everything from shake hands with an apostle of the Lord (Elder Anderson) to doing service for 5 hours straight!

Yep, this week was a blast! Part of the reason why is because Elder Anderson came! We got to shake his hand, and we got listen to him apply things to the mission that I’ve never really thought about before. But to save the surprise for what he said, I’ll share it when I come home in my homecoming talk! Needless to say we have stayed about 10 hours on the bus on Friday, just to see him!

Elder Recalde on his way home. Like my sweater?

Elder Recalde on his way home. Like my sweater?

This week also included tons of other things like service. That started at 8 in the morning, and it’s a 40 minute drive in bus just to get there! We picked up trash on the train tracks for a few hours! Some of the best parts were teaching some of the Peruvian kids how to flatten a coin as the train went by. They get so excited over the littlest things! At the end of the service, they gave us picante. Better known as cow intestine with a little sauce. I couldn’t do the whole mind over matter thing! So I stuck to the chicha and bread they gave out as well! I wore a hat and thought nothing about putting on sunscreen, but I should have! I got roasted and it’s bad! Luckily after all this time in the mish I found my lil’ aloe bottle my mom packed for me, just in case! Moms are just the greatest! (also when they send you packages; I received 2 just the other day!)

Service in Ilo!

Service in Ilo!

I got the note about coach Danny retiring (LHHS roller hockey), and to tell you the truth, it actually made me tear up… I realized how much he has done for me and I can never forget that. Not just as a hockey coach, but as a coach for life, a best friend you can always count on, no matter the trials… Coach is his first name, and Danny is his last! I hope him the best in his life, and I hope to stay in contact!

Thanks for all the support Coach Danny!

Thanks for all the support Coach Danny!

Love you all and hope the best!

Elder McPherson

