This week was my last week in Ilo Peru! It made for a great week with sad, but exciting thoughts! Leaving family and friendships is always difficult, but at the same time you can become someone completely different in your new area! I think that’s what a lot of people search after: a fresh start! To be someone new and don’t be the one that falls into their old habits.

The mission helps you find out who you are without a ton of the consequences of home, like being judged by your peers. Not a soul here knows your background so you can be who you want to be. Try something new! Training a new missionary was definitely a great opportunity I will never forget as I leave paths with Elder Layton.

Adios Elder Layton!

Adios Elder Layton!

I’m now here in Tacna, Peru with my new companion Elder Flickinger! He is from Utah, 18 years old, and he reminds me of my cousin, Austin DeSoto: smart, tall and lanky!

Last night I got a pizza from my pension, but not your ordinary pizza. This was a fruit pizza. Strawberry, peach, banana, and a ‘lil milky cheese! So great!

Fruit pizza!

Fruit pizza!

Realizing how many people have become like my family here in the last six months was fantastic! I got so many gifts, it was basically an early Christmas. From ties to monederos. I know that I was loved there!

This week, I jumped over a trashcan, and ripped my pants in mid-air! I walked home with bit of a red face, and my backpack hanging low!

Hope all is well at home!!!!

Elder McPherson

